2021 WWN Recognition Award

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the WWN Recognition Award?

The WWN Recognition Award is an annual award that recognizes up to six women currently employed at Yale who have been exemplary members of the community at Yale. The individuals receiving this honor may be selected for a wide range of achievements, but overall, will have distinguished themselves through a commitment to changing the University through their personal efforts. For example, an awardee could have had an impact on a project or team by demonstrating a positive attitude, gone beyond the call of duty to get the job done, or demonstrated a love for learning new skills.

The nomination process is open to women Yale employees in the following job categories: Service and Maintenance (S&M), Clerical and Technical (C&T), and Managerial and Professional (M&P).

Who can be nominated for the WWN Recognition Award?

The nomination process will be open (November 30 - December 18) to women Yale employees under the following job categories: Service and Maintenance (S&M), Clerical and Technical (C&T), and Managerial and Professional (M&P). Consultants, temporary/casual employees, and members of the Recognition Award Committee cannot be nominated.

Who can nominate?

Nominations can be received from all University employees, including faculty members. Nominations must include a paragraph about why the person nominated made a difference during the period of time cited. Self-nominations are not allowed.

Is there any guidance for the nominators to use?

Yes, nominators are asked to submit their nominations in one of the following six categories:

Up to six award recipients will be chosen; one for each category. 

What happens after my nomination form has been submitted?

Because this is a confidential process, you will only be contacted if your nominee is chosen as a recipient.

What does the selection process entail?

The WWN Recognition Award Review Committee will review all nomination forms and select the top submissions. A second and final review will be conducted by the WWN Recognition Award Advisory Team, who will determine the award recipients.

Is the Recognition Award for an individual or a team of women?

This recognition award is for individuals only and will be awarded to up to six women in 2021!

What timeframe should the nominee’s achievements have been accomplished in?

The nominee’s achievements must have been accomplished within the past year.

What is the prize for the WWN Recognition Award recipient?

The award recipients will each receive a WWN Recognition Award crystal keepsake during a virtual ceremony in April 2021.  The news will be shared via the WWN newsletter, website, and social media.

2020 Awardees: Nikitia Tillman, Asian Neupane, & Ann DeLauro

2019 Awardees: Linda Jackson, Rebecca Cramer, Anjuli Bodyk, & Allyssa Antunes 

2018 Awardees: Mela Waters, Rebecca Udler, Diane Chandler, & Nandi Cummings

2017 Awardee: Linda Caruso